miniaturemary: The Concentration section of of my AP 3D Studio…

miniaturemary:

The Concentration section of of my AP 3D Studio Art Portfolio.

Since I’ll be uploading these pieces individually as well, I didn’t include the detail views that were also in my portfolio. Also, because I have submitted my portfolio, I am now locked out of viewing it, so I am missing the dimensions of some of my pieces that I no longer have. 

“My concentration focused around the central idea that through destruction, we can also find creation. I wanted to prove the point that there cannot be one without the other, and that they are both linked through art.

When I first began my concentration work, I started with the images of objects being “destroyed” to create a new object, particularly focusing on the use of fire to change the original object. That was my main focus for my first five images. However, at that point, I decided to branch away from my original concept of using fire to change objects, and turned to focusing more on the imagery of melting objects, especially through jewelry, as seen in the necklace and ear cuff in images 6 and 7. The final stage of my concentration focused on the more abstract idea of breaking relationships to allow for personal change or new ideas. This stage began with the folding mix media book, which spoke of an old friendship that was changed to allow for a new type of relationship (image 8), and the next piece, images 9 and 10, which has fraying friendship bracelets juxtaposed over quotes and phrases, framed especially by the quote (image 10), “It was said in hushed tones: ‘Beware of the particular friendship.’” The last piece in my concentration had to do with the greatest form of destruction: death (images 11 and 12). It portrays how even the destruction of life (in this case, the loss of a loved one) can introduced new thoughts and ideas.”

1: “Melting Candles”: Series of melting candles on ramp structure. (Dimensions missing); Candles, tile

2: “Modern Venus”: Series of candles based on the Venus of Willendorf; meant to portray the destruction of modern views of beauty to allow for new thoughts/tolerance, (Dimensions missing); Wax, wood, aluminum wire

3: “Hot Air Balloon”: Hot air balloon sculpture that was burnt to reveal a wire bird inside the structure, (Dimensions missing); Coiled base: yarn, twine, candle; Top: aluminum wire, tissue paper, rubber coated copper

4: “Ear Cuff”: Ear cuff that uses the imagery of melting skin, (Dimensions missing); Copper wire, paper clay, paint

5: “Melt Necklace”: Necklace based off the imagery of melting wax, 5 1/4” x 8 1/2”; Handmade aluminum jump rings, copper wire, ceramic beads

6: “Doors Open Both Ways”: Mixed media book inside a box, based on a poem about friendship, (Dimensions missing); Stiffened fabric, thread, paper

7: “The Particular Friendship”: Wire friendship bracelets frayed across the box over phrases and quotes about friendship, both negative and positive; symbolizes the destruction of harmful friendships to make way for new ones, (Dimensions missing); Wooden box, rubber coated wire, paper

8: “Brain”: Based on the death of a loved one and how even destruction of a life can open up a pathway to new ideas, (Dimensions missing); Aluminum wire, paper

Part 1 of my Breadth

Part 2 of my Breadth

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/1uSNN22
via IFTTT

Leave a Reply

